Takayama

excellent post. i will try to visit. looks great

a little piece of everything

I really have to say that Takayama is one of the hidden jewels in Japan, especially if you are looking for traditional Japan. It’s located in the Gifu prefecture, which is beside my presiding prefecture, Nagano. It’s located right in the Japanese Alps and thus not readily accessible. However, it can be accessed via a limited express train that goes from Nagoya to Takayama, or by bus from Matsumoto. I only found out about this city because my Japanese sensei (teacher) was born there, and highly recommended visiting the city during Hanami (Sakura blooming) season. So that’s what I did, I jumped into a car and went there on a day trip with a colleague.

I thought the city itself is very nice. The city is well-preserved and designed in the whole Edo-style streets. Many of the houses and stores in these streets uses wooden planks for constructions. I would…

View original post 332 more words

About dfmw

design | outdoor | lifestyle
This entry was posted in photography, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

